Rojo Bicicleta

Posted on October 26, 2008

3


I have made my first large purchase here in Uruguay, a shiny new bicycle. It is bright red, has but one gear, and wide silly looking tires. It is a good solid bike though, suitable for the relatively flat terrain of Uruguay. I will mostly be using it to get around town so I do not always need to pay for a cab. It is also good exercise. Total cost was about $120, including bike pump and good lock. Bike theft is a big problem here though, so hopefully I will be able to keep it relatively unscathed during the next two months I am here.


I have taken the bike for some rides along the Rambla this weekend and it has been spectacular. There is a bike path all along the coast, passing beaches, lighthouses, restaurants, and condominiums. With spring slowly yielding to summer, this is a perfect time of the year for a nice ride along the water.

photos courtesy of Laura B.

Posted in: Uncategorized