December Mushroom Identification

Posted on December 28, 2011

1



While hiking in Lake Hope State Park this week I took special note of the mushrooms that I saw along the way.  I wasn’t sure if mushrooms would still be visible in cold months of winter, but I quickly found that many types of mushrooms were visible from the hiking trail.  I have attempted to identify the mushrooms that I found.

Turkey Tail Mushrooms – They come in a variety of colors as demonstrated by the two pictures below.  The mushrooms in the first picture are mainly green and tan, while the mushrooms in the second picture are white with brown edges.

Oyster Mushrooms – Prized edible mushroom.

Unknown Mushroom – A strange mushroom that  I could not locate in my mushroom book.  Perhaps because it looks different in the winter.

Posted in: Hiking, Mushrooms