Buckeye Trail Hike – Old Mans Cave State Park to Logan, Ohio

Posted on December 31, 2011

0



It is one of my long term goals to hike the entire Buckeye Trail.  The Buckeye Trail circumambulates the state of Ohio on a 1,450 mile journey.  It is a trail in development, though the entire route can now be hiked.  The trail covers a wide variety of terrain, from the forested hills in southern Ohio to the flat farmland on the western side of the state.  The trail passes close by many cities and towns.  Overall, it is interesting and has its own charm.

To date I have hiked 44.1 miles, or about 3% of the trail.  I still have a long way to go.  Honestly though, this is more about the journey than the completion.

Miles to Go Miles Hiked Total Miles
TOTAL 1400.4 44.1 1444.5
% 96.9% 3.1%

Earlier this week I hiked on the Old Mans Cave section of trail between the State Park and the town of Logan.  I covered 14.3 miles in some of the worst conditions you can imagine.  The temperature was in the high 30s and it rained the entire day in a steady downpour.  The trail liquefied into a flowing mush and in many places streams encroached on the path.  Twice I got wet fording small streams.  I fell a couple times sliding down steep sections of trail where the mud gave way.  I have the bruises to prove it.

That being said, it was a nice hike.  The first couple miles where very beautiful, with large rocks balanced high over towering gorges.  Waterfalls sounded out from every direction.  Pine forests stood high upon the ridges shrouded in mist.  The trail wound around massive trees and boulders.

The second half of the hike was primarily on rural roads past farms and through forests.  The cows were interested in me and several locals stopped to ask if I needed assistance.  It is nice to know that in this falling apart world there is still a place where people will lend a hand to a wet, cold stranger.  I declined the offers of support but did take the opportunity to let them know that I was on the Buckeye Trail which happens to pass through their part of the world.

I finished the hike in the dark, thankful that I brought along a flashlight so I could pick out the trail markings.  My end point was Lake Logan, which was surprisingly large and nice.  I then headed for the Chinese buffet in town, and stuffed my wet, muddy, bruised gut with greasy food.  It was a good day.

Posted in: Buckeye Trail, Hiking