Shiitake Mushroom Kit – Start

Posted on January 14, 2012

3



For Christmas I received a shiitake mushroom growing kit from my brother and sister-in-law.  This is something I have always wanted to try.  It is pretty easy, but time will tell if I have any success.

The kit consists of a large block of growing medium and a humidity tent.  The growing medium looks a bit like compressed wet popcorn.  The farming starts by refrigerating the growing medium for 3 to 5 days.

After refrigerating for 3 to 5 days, you douse the growing medium and soak it for about two hours.  The water used for soaking needs to be de-chlorinated so it does not kill the mushrooms.

After soaking, the growing medium is removed from the bag it came in and placed in a humidity tent.  The humidity tent is a plastic bag with some holes in the sides.  It keeps the medium moist but ensures fresh air circulates to prevent mold.

I need to spray the growing medium 2 to 3 times a day until the mushrooms are ready to harvest.  I continue to harvest until no more mushrooms grow, then I repeat the process again.  Per the instructions, I can repeat the process 3 times producing a total of 2 to 3 pounds of mushrooms over 16 weeks.  Stick with this blog and I will give periodic updates.

Posted in: Cooking, Mushrooms